Fixtures‎ > ‎

Silver Kettle

The Silver Kettle presented to “The Cumbrae Curling Club” by J.P.B.Robertson , January 1891. 

James Patrick Bannerman Robertson, Baron Robertson (1845 - 1909), was a Scottish politician and judge.

He studied at Edinburgh University {MA 1864, hon LLD 1890}, and was Rector of the University in 1893. He passed to the Scottish bar in 1867 and became a Queen’s Counsel in 1885.

He was appointed Solicitor General for Scotland in 1885 and again in 1886. He was Conservative Member of Parliament for Buteshire from 1885 to 1886 and from 188S to 1891. He was appointed Lord Advocate in 1888 and was made a Privy Counsellor in the same year. He carried the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889.

He was appointed Lord President of the Court of Session in 1891, and was appointed a Law Lord and Life peer as Baron Robertson, of Forteviot in the County of Perthshire, and member of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council In 1899. He was Chairman of the Irish University Commission. In later life he retired to live in Muchalls Castle in Aberdeenshire.

Season 2017-8 the winning rink for the Kettle was Elly Branch, Jimmy Lochridge, Fergus Boyle and Janie McKenzie.
The Crerar Medal went to Anne Watt, Walter Marshall, Jim Johnston and Chris Reekie

Season 2016-7 the winning rink for the Kettle was Jimmy Lochridge, Susan Forrest, Alister Miller and Janie Mckenzie.
The Crerar Medal went to David Cameron, Elly Branch, Lisa Miller and Ron Copeland.

Season 2015-6 the winning rink for the Kettle was Willie McIntyre, Jimmy Lochridge, Innes Rae and Liza Miller.
The Crerar Medal went to Anne Watt, Robin Goodall, Richard Stokes and Dana Boyle.